Staff

Dr. Angela Combs

Executive Director

acombs@pivotcharterschool.com

Dr. Combs joins the pivot team with over fifteen years of experience in the education field. She received her Doctorate in Education Leadership and Masters in Administration and Supervision from Trevecca Nazarene University in Nashville, Tennessee. In addition, she has her undergraduate in Biology, Physics, and Education from Austin Peay State University.

Her doctoral research focused on student transition, motivation, and drop-out prevention. Her dissertation included the difficulties of freshman transition and solutions to ease high school stress. She is an experienced educator teaching all levels and types of learners. She has taught and attended differential instruction conferences that helped her create a toolbox of talents to assist students and parents. She worked as a Tennessee Academic Specialist where she helped write plans to improve school academic performance.

Dr. Combs’s goals include individualizing each student, focusing on their strengths while working on their weakness to create the best possible education plan. She believes that all students can be successful if given the opportunity. She wants to create an environment that reflects one of safety, belonging, acceptance and respect. An environment not just where students feel at home, but one where the student leaves every day with a feeling of accomplishment from the knowledge they have gained.

“If you prepare yourself…you will be able to grasp opportunity for broader experience when it appears.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

Mrs. Liz Bretz

Principal of Pivot Tampa

ebretz@pivotcharterschool.com

Mrs. Liz Bretz joins the Pivot team with 14 years of experience in Illinois. She attended MacMurray College receiving bachelors’ degrees in Marketing /Business Administration and Elementary Education. In addition, she received her Master of Arts degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Illinois at Springfield. As a teacher for seven years, Mrs. Bretz taught grades Kindergarten through 4th grade in both the urban and rural setting. As a parent of three children and an educator, she understands that all children learn in their own unique way and should be given the opportunity to do so.

As an administrator, Mrs. Bretz served as the Administrator of Instruction and Technology in Riverton School District where she led the district’s technology efforts in addition to the professional development of district staff, students and parents to ensure student achievement. For the last five years, Mrs. Bretz has been the principal of Sangamon County Learning Academy and the Regional Safe School Program. During the past five years, Mrs. Bretz has been able to shift the educational options for the alternative students from a traditional setting to a blended learning environment which better suits their needs while offering service learning opportunities and career services to students. Under her leadership, the school has become an award winning PBIS school for the last three years. Mrs. Bretz believes strongly in keeping students actively engaged in their learning and hopes that she is seen as a model for lifelong learning.

Teachers

Dr. Marco DiBernardo, Teacher
mdibernardo@pivotcharterschool.com

Gary Stein, Teacher
gstein@pivotcharterschool.com

Shirley Baksh, Teacher
sbaksh@pivotcharterschool.com

Kathrine Rodriguez, Teacher
krodriguez@pivotcharterschool.com

Seth Federman, Teacher
sfederman@pivotcharterschool.com

Alesha Langley, Teacher, ESE Coordinator
alangley@pivotcharterschool.com

Karen Jarrold, Teacher
kjarrold@pivotcharterschool.com

David Nieves, Teacher
dnieves@pivotcharterschool.com

Bobby Edwards, Teacher
bedwards@pivotcharterschool.com

Stephen Schindler, Teacher AP & Guidance
sschindler@pivotcharterschool.com

Ben McCormick, Teacher
bmccormick@pivotcharterschool.com

Dionna Whitaker, Teacher
dwhitaker@pivotcharterschool.com

Teacher Assistants

Arthur McKay, Teacher Assistant
amckay@pivotcharterschool.com

Administrative Assistants

Andrea Preziosi, Registrar
apreziosi@pivotcharterschool.com

Jeanette Gilmore, Executive Assistant/Reception 
jgilmore@pivotcharterschool.com